People at Tidbinbilla



Other photos


Les Whaley’s photos
See also these photos from Les Whaley (scanned by Mike Dinn).

Mariner 4

Station Director Bob Leslie addresses the team after their first operational track of Mariner 4. Around March 1965.

See the key to this photo, and others taken at the same meeting.

Team D c 1980

Gary Peach in the workshop at Tidbinbilla setting up a bridge to measure the Waveguides for the Apollo Dual 20 kW Transmitter upgrade.

Tom Reid and John Cummings

AWA Company Senior Representative (CSR) John Cummings (left) with Station Director Tom Reid who had transferred from Honeysuckle to Tidbinbilla in 1970. Photo undated. Photo preserved by Mike Dinn.

Stew Burton

Stew Burton at the USB console at DSS 43, 1970s.

Stew came over from Tidbinbilla to Honeysuckle to help support Apollo 8, but was at Tid for the rest of Apollo.

Scan: Stew Burton.

Team D c 1980

Team D at Tidbinbilla circa 1980.

Standing: Left to right

David Hollingsworth (Team leader), Ian Warren, Dave “Smokey” Dawson.


Ivan Boyd, John Jorritsma, Colin Schmutter.

With thanks to Colin Schmutter for the photo.

People at Tid

Tidbinbilla in 1980.

Transparency by Hamish Lindsay, scan by Colin Mackellar.

People at Tid

A telemetry station with a Modcomp computer, Tidbinbilla, 1980.

Photo by Hamish Lindsay.

People at Tid

Comms operator Kevin Sanders typing a message, Tidbinbilla, 1980.

DSS-43 is in the background.

Photo by Hamish Lindsay.

People at Tid

Tidbinbilla Ops Room in 1980.

Photo by Hamish Lindsay.

Staff 1981

Personnel Assignments at CDSCC, late April 1981.

Preserved and scanned by Tony Gerada.

1986 Voyager at Uranus

A sheet commemorating Parkes’ support of Voyager 2 at Uranus in January 1986.
The support was run by people from Tid (with many who had also been at HSK.)

cold morning at Tid

A cold day at Tidbinbilla.

Stew writes, “Model of Voyager 2 spacecraft in original position with pond and water rings of Saturn on a very cold morning. Picture taken about midday when the water jets began to flow again.”

Photo: Stew Burton.

Fred Gregory presented to Fred Gregory

Presentation piece for Fred Gregory at the 40th celebrations at Tidbinbilla in August 2005 – presented by CDSCC Stadir Peter Churchill. Photos: Stew Burton.



Les Whaley - Analog console Bob Cudmore – Instrumentation Section Leader Jack Rothwell – Antenna Engineer Peter Papps – Magnetic recording John Heath – Microwave Engineer Bob Leslie – Station Director Neil McVicar – Receiver Technician Paddy Johnstone – Ops Controller Dave Watts – Antenna Technician Mal Glenn – JPL Rep