Orroral Valley Tracking Station, ACT


Station Directors

Orroral Valley

Thomas Reid was the first StaDir of Orroral Valley, from August 1964. Operations began at Orroral in October 1965.

Tom left in August 1967, when he was asked to become StaDir at Honeysuckle Creek.

(Tom Reid’s Deputy was Lou Cotrell, seen here lighting his pipe.)

Orroral Valley

Dennis Willshire became StaDir when he was transferred from DSS41 Island Lagoon in 1967.

He remained at Orroral until 1980.

Orroral Valley

Dennis Willshire, the second station director.

The note on the back of the photo suggests this is the site for the water bore. The Orroral 26 metre antenna is in the background with the Operations Building on the right.

Looking roughly West.

Photo found in the Tidbinbilla archives.
Scan: Colin Mackellar.

Thanks to Philip Clark for the identification.

Orroral Valley

Dennis Willshire is second from left in this 1977 photo taken at the front of the Orroral Valley Operations Building.

From left:

Peter Hubbard, Dennis Willshire, Dave Kemp, Brian Banfield, Peter Millich, Derek Trushell.

Thanks to Philip Clark for the identification.

The 26 metre antenna is in the process of having the panels replaced as part of the S-Band upgrade.

Thanks to Philip Clark and Rob Quick for the photo.

Orroral Valley

Lewis Wainwright succeeded Dennis Willshire in 1980.

He had previously been Deputy Assistant Controller (to Bob Leslie) of the American Projects Branch. Earlier he had been StaDir at Carnarvon (where this photo was taken) and before that was StaDir at Muchea.

Orroral Valley

Orroral’s last Station Director was Ian Grant, formerly Deputy Director, and later Director, at Honeysuckle Creek.

Ian was Director of Orroral Valley from November 1981 until it closed in December 1984.

Photographed at Honeysuckle, circa 1978, by Hamish Lindsay.